10
Aug
08

The Season Starts Now

….OK, yesterday, and a further OK to “several leagues in Europe.”

Aside from maybe baseball (I’m sorry, I don’t buy into “opening day magic” in a 162-game season), there are few more exciting sporting days for me than season-opening weekends, and we’ve got a few across the Continent this weekend.

The Football League started up, with the Premier League next weekend, and for me it’s already been a pretty decent start. Charlton beat promoted Swansea 2-0, which frankly isn’t quite a good enough result for me, but after such a dismal campaign last season I’m fine with three points, no matter what the score. This is, as widely publicized, the Addick’s last season of parachute payments, so if they don’t make it stick we could be stuck in the Soda Jerk League for far, far too long. We all know the ramifications of not bouncing back up…Leicester, anyone? It’s been a painfully quiet summer on the transfer front in SE7, so in all honesty my south London brethren could very well be “enjoying” trips to magical Barnsley for a while, yet.

Rangers made up for their absolute clusterfuck of a Champion’s League “campaign” (fuck the heck, no they didn’t) by beating a strong Falkirk side 1-0, and PSG suffered a (somewhat promising) early season setback against Monaco.

This is an incredibly basic post as I didn’t actually see any of the games in question, though I DID see the Fire’s incredible comeback win at New England…what the fuck was Reis complaining about on Conde’s goal, anyway? I’ll let Arriaga talk about that if he wants, as he knows much more about the Fire than me.

Keep it locked here, hopefully between Arriaga and myself we catch plenty of Olympic action.

Until then, enjoy one of the greatest finishes to a match I’ve ever seen (HT: The Offside)

<embedsrc=”http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/play?file=http://rd3.videos.sapo.pt/mfMagNiRQ96NpcJe4Ye1/mov/1&#8243; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” width=”400″ height=”322″></embed>

0 Responses to “The Season Starts Now”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
    follow me on Twitter

    Categories

    Our Popularity:

    • 5,381 persons nominated and dealt with by YCIR.

